dodofuglens nebbete notater

«The Dark Well», av R.S. Thomas

Posted in lyrikk by Arnfinn Pettersen on 27.03.09

rs-thomasThey see you as they see you,
A poor farmer with no name,
Ploughing cloudward, sowing the wind
With squalls of gulls at the day’s end.
To me you are Prytherch, the man
Who more than all directed my slow
Charity where there was need.
There are two hungers, hunger for bread
And hunger of the uncouth soul
For the light’s grace. I have seen both,
And chosen for an indulgent world’s
Ear the story of one whose hands
Have bruised themselves on the locked doors
Of life; whose heart, fuller than mine
Of gulped tears, is the dark well
From which to draw, drop after drop,
The terrible poetry of his kind.

4 kommentar

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lady Mju said, on 28.03.09 at 9:34 am

    dark indeed…

  2. dodofuglen said, on 28.03.09 at 10:16 pm

    Mju: Ja, eller muligens nei. Det er aldri lett å bli klok på Thomas. Men han var prest i den anglikanske kirke og religionen er aldri langt unna i diktene hans, så jeg tolker det dithen at «one whose hands/Have bruised themselves on the locked doors/Of life» osv. er Kristus. Men det er en dyster kristendomsforståelse. Hvilket ikke er overraskende. Thomas var definitivt en dyster mann.

  3. Lady Mju said, on 29.03.09 at 6:00 pm

    Jeg tror jeg har mistet noe av evnen til verdsette diktning. Så diktpostene her er en god utfordring for meg… *gruble mer*

  4. dodofuglen said, on 29.03.09 at 10:41 pm

    Jeg er heller ikke den lyrikkleseren jeg en gang var, men jeg prøver å børste støvet av gamle evner.


Legg igjen en kommentar

